Resolutions for the Rest of Us.

Since Jillian Michaels ruined my life last year I’ve decided to set myself up for success in 2012 by actually taking the time to make resolutions that have more depth to them than: “Get less fat.” Because I’m not fat. And I’m at the point now where taking better care of my body isn’t something I should set as a repetitive New Year’s Resolution, I should just be fucking doing it. I should be making it an actual part of my lifestyle and ingraining it into every element of my behaviour and that’s a slow and steady process, not a simple change that I can wake up on the first day of a new year and suddenly adhere to perfectly. Basically what I’m saying is that my first meal of 2012 was a cheeseburger and poutine.

Here are my resolutions for 2012 (I’m chanting “If you blog it, then it’s real” in my head right now, by the way):

  • Begin volunteering in some way. Or rather, convince people that I’m well adjusted enough to have valuable skills they may want to make use of for free. I would especially love working with young girls doing writing workshops.
  • Master a dish of food, to the point where I can boast about making “the best gawd damn [exotic and/or classic dish name here] you’ve ever had in your mouth, EVER” and then actually back it up by making it.
  • I will go to Paris and/or Barcelona with my roommate.
  • I will take a class in creative writing even though they cost a majillion dollars. (Majillion. I’m making up words to emphasize my points. I doubt that’s encouraged.)

And that’s it, because those are four pretty big things and I really don’t think I’ll have time for much else. Realism. That’s what 2012 is all about. Oh, and maybe I’ll meet a really cute and nice boy who won’t be scared away by my penchant for emotional nonsense, my need for constant verbal affirmations of love, or my tiny hands.

What are YOUR resolutions?

S.

2 comments

Leave a Reply

