My ideal flick

I started writing a post about how they have yet to make my ideal movie, which forced me to actually think about what my ideal movie would be. And the more I thought about it, the more my answer surprised me. I really like this “perfect” movie (as I will conclude), but I never thought that it would technically be my all-time fav. Hear me out. My perfect movie is a blend of two already existing, but very separate, genres (much like my taste in men and friends.)

Let’s take a look at your typical “dude” comedies: Old School, Step Brothers, Role Models etc. These are all some of my favourite movies. Hilarious, classic and original, but they’re all missing a plausible romantic storyline or any kind of a female lead that isn’t more than JUST the romantic interest or resident insane chick, slutty chick or bitchy cock blocking friend/relative. I recently watched “The Goods,” that used car salesman comedy with Jeremy Piven (highly recommended for a mediocre night in). At the end of the movie his love interest breaks up with her fiancé, they fist bump, and she is magically in Piven’s arms. Really? Really.

Now let’s take a look at your typical “chick” rom coms: The Ugly Truth, The Breakup, Couples Retreat and pretty much anything starring Meg Ryan. These movies take otherwise fine actors like Vince Vaughn and Kristen Bell and turn them into bland, predictable and completely unrealistic characters. I mean, don’t get me wrong, I loved “The Proposal” as much as the next girl, I’m just saying there could be more. Also, there is not one guy in this place I like to call “reality” that would ever do half that shit, so please stop trying to make us believe that he’s “out there somewhere.” He’s not.

So why can’t there just be a movie that is both?? A little Anchorman mixed with, I don’t know, Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants or something. Well, there is one.

Any guesses?

K.

4 comments

    1. How come they didn’t respond here? It’s so strange how we get e-mails and other forms of comments about this blog, yet no one actually comments ON IT. Makes me think that people are ashamed to admit they read it on regular basis. Let’s be honest…I’m a little ashamed that we write it, so I can understand.

      ANYWAYS.

      I really have no idea. I’ll need another hint.

Leave a Reply

